Food Scoop "Birmingham"

Food and Travel

Archive for June 22nd, 2010

My New Experience at Zoës Kitchen

Posted by bhamfoodscoop on June 22, 2010

Sunday afternoon, mom and I went to “Zoës Kitchen” for our normal Sunday lunch. We went to the location in Hoover at “Patton Creek”. The restaurant serves Greek food that allows you to eat on the go, or in a modern, colorful, funky atmosphere. We wanted to eat on the patio, but the weather was so hot that we opted for a table inside.

I’ve eaten here numerous times, however, this time I wanted to order something new, including a new drink too; not sweet tea. So I decided to get the “Spinach Quesadilla” and it came with spinach, scallions, feta, and a side of salsa. To add my own twist, I added caramelized onions and grilled Greek chicken on the quesadilla. I don’t want to toot my own horn, but I made an excellent decision because the taste was out of this world. Although, I was not a big fan of the scallions, I just won’t get those next time. My side item was a bowl of fruit and it was made up of pieces of pineapple, green apples, strawberries, oranges, and cantaloupe. I’m sad to say that none of the fruit was really sweet.

Mom enjoyed her food too! She had the “Chicken Roll-Ups” which I normally get. This dish consists of grilled tortillas, grilled chicken, feta, lettuce, tomato, caramelized onions, salsa, and a side. Her side item was the “Braised White Beans”. When I sampled the beans I could taste the distinct flavor of rosemary and this was a plus for me because I love rosemary. So that means next time I’m definitely going to order the beans!

Oh, by the way the drink that I ordered was the “Homemade Limeade” which had an equal blend of tartness and sweetness; it was very good! To sum it up, I’m glad that I went here with an open mind to try something new because I was very proud of my new choices.

http://www.zoeskitchen.com/

Posted in Greek/Mediterranean, My Favorite Lunch Spots | Tagged: , , , , , , , | Leave a Comment »