Food Scoop "Birmingham"

Food and Travel

James Jones:The Man Behind “Kairos Kafe & Katering”

Posted by bhamfoodscoop on February 18, 2011

Kairos Kafe & Katering are both owned by James Jones, who is a passionate cook that loves to serve the community. This restaurant is located on University Boulevard in the old Ollie’s BBQ location, next to I65.  My visit here was educational and filled with delicious food and genuine hospitality. The restaurant’s mission statement is “building relationships around food”, and I definitely felt a special bond with everyone that I came in contact with, during my visit. More specifically, Kairos Kafe & Katering are connected to, and have a special relationship with Grace & Truth Ministry. The minister, Steve Longnecker, helped the owner, James, get back on his feet after being incarcerated. In addition, as a child, James loved to watch his grandmother cook, and that is where his dream of owning a restaurant developed.

James and his staff makes all of their food fresh and they try to be innovative with their recipes. For example, the strawberry butter that I had with my roll was tasty. It was similar to butter but had a subtle sweet starwberry flavor. Also James is known for his famous croutons which are made from tortilla bread; they are cut into strips, rolled up, and fried. I’ve never seen croutons like them before, but they sure are tasty. You can see them, a little, in my salad below. This is the “Norma’s Mixed Green Salad”. This was delicious!

James always advises his customers to visit the restaurant’s blog, in order, to get the weekly coupon.

Finally, Kairos Kafe is open Monday-Friday from 10:30am-2:30pm. Kairos Katering is always available upon request.

http://kairoskatering.com/index.html

The story behind Kairos Kafe & Katering is very inspirational and, hopefully, the following video captures the true essence.

Kairos Kafe on Urbanspoon

3 Responses to “James Jones:The Man Behind “Kairos Kafe & Katering””

  1. B J Allen said

    I tried the recipe for Slabaugh’s Sauteed Spinach from Kairos Kafe that was recently published in the paper and loved it so I decided to try eating there. Not only was the food delicious but the service was great and everybody was so friendly. It added to the wonderful dining experience to know that we were assisting the church in their ministry. I highly recommend the Ms. Sherry’s Chicken Florentine and the mixed green salad. The Granny’s rolls were unlike anything I had eaten before and the strawberry butter was a totally unique experience. I can’t wait to go back to try some of their other dishes!!

  2. Debi Brooks said

    I have not eaten at your restaurant Mr Jones but I saw you on Fox 6 making “Kenzie’s Taco Bread” on December 28, 2011. I waited for the recipe to be posted on the Fox 6 recipe page but it never was. I would love to have the recipe to try myself and to visit your restaurant the next time I am in Birmingham.

    Thank you,
    Debi Brooks
    Oxford, AL 36203

Leave a Reply

 
