Food Scoop "Birmingham"

Food and Travel

It’s hot at “Fuego Cantina”

Posted by bhamfoodscoop on August 6, 2010

“Fuego Cantina” is a “hot” restaurant in the heart of Five Points South, which offers Tex-Mex cuisine. The bar offers daily happy hour specials, and the prices are cheap/reasonable. Also the bar has an extensive drink menu, so you have plenty of choices. I visited “Fuego Cantina”, last week, with two of my friends and we had an awesome time!

We arrived about 8:30pm, after spending a few minutes searching for parking spots. Fortunately I found a spot in front of the restaurant, but everyone else had a short walk. Next, we went inside, and waited for the host to seat us.

I really like the relaxed atmosphere of  “Fuego Cantina”. Inside, the walls are painted bright red and orange, there’s funky contemporary Mexican decor, and the theme is “Mexican Wrestling” or “Lucha Libre”.  “Lucha Libre” is the Mexican version of the United States’ “WWE” . When I went to Mexico, I was fortunate enough to have gone to one of the “Lucha Libre” matches. This theme is carried throughout the entire restaurant with paintings and graffiti, all of which reflect wrestling. The decor isn’t excessive, it’s just the right amount of stuff!

The host took us to our seats, on the patio! And can I just say that the patio is amazing. It is large and the seats are centered around a fire pit, that is used in the winter. The view overlooks “the heart” of Five Points South.

Our waiter introduced himself by saying it was his first day working there; this made us hesitate, but he ended up doing a wonderful job. We ordered drinks, and appetizers to start. I ordered “nachos & salsa”. The salsa and nachos are homemade, and the nachos were served hot with a little bit of  salt on top. Just the way I like them!

Jon ordered the ” Crab Cakes”, which consisted of  four mini crab cakes and a special remoulade sauce. This dish was very tasty, but we all agreed that the price was too expensive for the amount we received.

Since we went on a Tuesday night, which is “$2.00 Taco Night”, our entrees were very cheap. I ordered one “Crunchy Shrimp Taco” and one “Baja Fish Taco”, and my taco total was $4.00; you can’t beat that! Anyway, the “Crunchy Shrimp Taco” consisted of a soft flour tortilla, filled with hand-breaded shrimp, lettuce, and Orange Habanera Hot Sauce. The “Baja Fish Taco” consisted of a soft flour tortilla, filled with a piece of grilled Tilapia, cucumber, and Diego Sauce. Both tacos tasted phenomenal, I was very pleased!

Rebecca ordered the “Crunchy Shrimp Taco” and the “Baja Fish Taco”, as well. She thought that these two tacos tasted amazing!

Jon had the “Baja Fish Taco” and the “Buffalo Chicken Taco”. The “Buffalo Chicken Taco” was made with a soft flour tortilla, filled with pieces of  fried buffalo chicken, lettuce, a white sauce, and cheese on top. Jon enjoyed both tacos with no complaints.

The tacos tasted exceptional, and they were just the right size. They weren’t too filling and not too lite. We had great convo on the patio, great service, a great view, along with great food, what more could we ask for!

Fuego Cantina on Urbanspoon

8 Responses to “It’s hot at “Fuego Cantina””

  1. Elena said

    Great article! I’ve been wanting to try this restaurant for a while now, but didn’t know anyone that had been there. I’ll have to visit soon! Sounds yummy.

  2. Phillip said

    Nice review. The last time I ventured to Fuegos I felt the menu was a little lacking but I definitely will go back on a Tuesday mite and order all the tacos mentioned I’m your blog.

  3. amanda said

    Just went there for game weekend. I was very disappointed with the whole experience. We had a large party and were sat at about 8:00, in a relatively full restaurant. We did not get any food until about 9:30. After speaking to the owner, we were informed that this was a cantina, not a restaurant, and they could not handle the large crowd. Too bad they are not a restaurant, because the tacos and nachos were good, the burritos and fajitas though did not look appealing. I suspect that the kitchen just kept pushing our ticket to get out smaller tickets. The owner could have been a little more concerned about his customers.

    • I’m so sorry that your experience wasn’t the best. I always try to give restaurants two chances, and if they ruin both chances, then I’m finished. Try to apply this logic and see what you get the second time; hopefully your experience will be much better. Also go with fewer people and see what happens. Please keep me updated. Have a great day!

  4. Marcus said

    I recently went to this restaurant on 3/19/11, and the service was horrible. I went with 3 friends around 7:00pm on a Saturday. The restaurant did not look busy at all, and we were told by a host to just seat ourselves on the patio. I know in most restaurants, if you are not seated by someone, essentially you don’t exist, but we went along with what the host instructed us to do. After we seated ourselves, we proceeded to wait 30 mins. before we complained to someone who looked like a manager about not being waited on. After an additional 10 mins., a waitress finally took our orders. The food was ok, but the waitress brought out the wrong type of queso for my friend, and essentially blamed my friend for the mishap. It was at this point that the waitress got an attitude with us. Needless to say, we did not leave a tip, but we did write a note explaining why we chose not to. I’m not sure if I will give this restaurant another chance because the experience was just that bad.

  5. SHarris said

    I was there on 9/17/11 with my 15 year son who fully understands the term rascism thanks to the staff. The absolute worst experience I’ve had in Birmingham. It’s in the heart of the southside an I pray it’s not the heart of the city.

    • I’m so sorry that you guys had to experience that. That’s definitely not a good look for the restaurant or this city, and I will keep this experience in mind as I continue to refer restaurants to various people.

Leave a Reply

 
