Food Scoop "Birmingham"

Food and Travel

B. Smith’s

Posted by bhamfoodscoop on July 13, 2010

The last restaurant that I visited, in Washington DC, was “B. Smith’s”. B. Smith is a pioneer in the lifestyle industry, whose talents and expertise span a wide range of specialties. In my opinion, she is the “African American Martha Stewart” because they are both known for being excellent cooks and crafty individuals. Smith is a respected expert in affordable-yet-elegant living and she brings style to everything that she does. For nearly a decade, she hosted the nationally syndicated/cable lifestyle television show “B. Smith with Style”.

Smith extends her lifestyle expertise as the owner of three successful “B. Smith” restaurants. Her longtime establishments include those on Restaurant Row in New York City, Union Station in Washington DC, and Long Island Hampton Village of Sag Harbor.

Mom and I had about an hour to spare, while at Union Station, before we started our “DC Duck Tour”. So we decided to have a lite lunch at “B. Smith’s”. We entered through a secondary entrance, which was the bar area; it looked like a medium sized parlor. Then we turned the corner, and became awestruck at the beauty of the interior of the actual restaurant portion. It is a grand Beaux Arts style dining room with 30-foot ceilings, chandeliers, and turn of the century elegance. It is a national landmark and has been called one of the most beautiful dining rooms in America.

The host took us to our table, and our waiter came to introduce himself and the specialties of the day. One thing that really stood out, about the waiter, is that he greeted us by our last name. I have never gone to a restaurant where the waiter greeted me by my name; I thought that was so awesome and genuine! All of the staff was formally dressed and the waiters wore a formal uniform. The whole atmosphere seemed expensive, comfortable, and classy.

Mom and I had previewed the menu before-hand, so we already knew what we wanted. Furthermore, we ordered the “Thai Spiced Wings” and the “Cajun Seasoned Fries”. While we were waiting on our food to come out, the waiter gave us a basket of mini biscuits and mini cornbread muffins. Both items were served warm, but my favorite were the mini cornbread muffins,  because they had somewhat of a sweet flavor.

Eventually, the food was served and the “Thai Spiced Wings” consisted of six nice size chicken drummetts that were grilled and topped with a sweet chili sauce. They had a sweet Thai taste, which was excellent. The “Cajun Seasoned Fries” were large cut fresh pieces of potato that were fried and seasoned with Cajun spices. The first batch of fries we had were not hot, so we sent them back and got another batch of hot fries. They didn’t taste amazing, but they were doable.

Once I finished that course, I was full but I still wanted to try a dessert. So I asked the waiter what the most popular dessert was, and he told me about the “Bourbon Street Bread Pudding”. This is what I ordered, and it was served with a warm caramel creme sauce on top. The dish itself was ok,  not as good as he cooked it up to be. I have had much better bread pudding before.

If I had to rate “B. Smith’s” from 1-10, 10 being the highest, I would give the restaurant an 8.5. The atmosphere seems to date back to the Victorian era and it is simply beautiful. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable about B. Smith and her endeavors. Lastly, I think the food is good but not great. Many people probably go eat here, just so they can say that they have gone to “B. Smith’s”. However, if you are ever in the area, I recommend that you go try it and develop your own opinion!

http://www.bsmith.com/restaurant_dc_menu_s.php

3 Responses to “B. Smith’s”

  1. Bettina Byrd-Giles said

    A visit to B. Smith’s is a ritual for me.

  2. Blkgrl said

    Wow, I’m surprised at the food rating after the huge set-up on such a grand start. Well, while I love B. Smith, I may simply drop by for an appetizer and photo op. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
