Food Scoop "Birmingham"

Food and Travel

Georgetown Cupcake

Posted by bhamfoodscoop on July 11, 2010

“Georgetown Cupcake” is Washington DC’s premier destination for gourmet cupcakes. It is located in Georgetown, across the street from where I had pizza. The company was founded by two sisters, Katherine Kallinis and Sophie LaMontagne, who traded in their fashion and private equity careers in order to make cupcakes. The two just wanted to follow their passion and didn’t even consider how popular the business would become. “Georgetown Cupcake” opened in February 2008 as DC’s first and only cupcakery.

Upon my arrival, I could see the long line forming outside of the door, and I was one block away. I didn’t feel like waiting forever for a cupcake, in the heat, but I said that if the line is moving rapidly then I would give it a try. So I got there, and the line moved at a fast pace. There were people from all over the world standing in line, just for a cupcake. For example, a couple from the Netherlands said that “Georgetown Cupcake” was a “must” on their list of places to visit, while in the United States. I was shocked at the popularity of this place, and here I was, I had never heard of it before; I just wanted a cupcake!

As I made my way in the front door, I was talking to one of the workers and she told me that “TLC” (The Learning Channel) will be doing a series on “Georgetown Cupcake”, and it will premier on Friday July 16, 2010 at 10pm (Eastern Time). Honestly, this just made me want a cupcake even more, knowing that the whole United States is about to find out about this cupcakery gem.

I finally made it in the door, and I had only waited for about 15 minutes. The building isn’t big at all, but the designers did a great job with the space and layout. Once you walk in, there is a large cupcake display, and behind it is the kitchen where you can see the workers baking and designing the cupcakes. The whole atmosphere is contemporary and chic; this is one of the only buildings on “M Street” that has been remodeled both on the outside and inside. It was also good to see the workers working in an efficient manner that minimizes the wait time for customers.

Once I made it to the cashier, I decided to get two cupcakes, the “Honey Banana” and the “Milk Chocolate Birthday”. The “Honey Banana” is a fresh banana cupcake topped with a vanilla cream cheese frosting and a fondant flower. The “Milk Chocolate Birthday” is a classic madagascar bourbon vanilla cupcake topped with a whipped callebaut chocolate frosting topped with festive sprinkles. Ya’ll, words can’t describe how amazingly good, moist, sweet, tasty, flavorful, and beautiful these cupcakes were!

My mom and aunt were shopping while I got the cupcakes, and when I saw them again they sampled both of my cupcakes and ended up falling in love with them. So guess what, I had to stand in line again to get more cupcakes, lol!

Anyway, if you like tasty traditional and exotic cupcakes, then you must go to “Georgetown Cupcake”. And don’t forget to watch the series premier on Friday July 16, 2010 on “TLC” at 9pm (Central Time)/10pm (Eastern Time). That way you can get a “taste” of what I saw and ate!

http://www.georgetowncupcake.com/

Georgetown Cupcake on Urbanspoon

2 Responses to “Georgetown Cupcake”

  1. Mike on H Street said

    Good write-up, but what makes Georgetown Cupcake “Washington DC’s premier destination for gourmet cupcakes?”

    There are at least a half dozen other cupcake places in town that can make a similar claim – Red Velvet, Hello Cupcake, CakeLove, Baked & Wired…

    We’ve even got two mobile food trucks that sell cupcakes – Curbside Cupcake and Sweetbites.

    Georgetown Cupcakes are good, but they’re not the best the city has to offer.

    • Hey Mike! I’m sure there are other good cupcake places in the area, but I have only been to “Georgetown Cupcake” while in DC, because it is a family favorite. And it seems to be attracting a lot of attention, for obvious reasons, especially with the new TV show.

      Anyway, I will be sure to try more cupcake places when I return to DC. You have definitely given me some choices. Thanks so much for reading my blog!

Leave a Reply

 
