Food Scoop "Birmingham"

Food and Travel

My visit to a world-renowned restaurant

Posted by bhamfoodscoop on May 12, 2010

Every since “The Bright Star” was recognized in 2010 by the James Beard Foundation as an American Classic Restaurant, I have been hearing people talk about it more, so I decided to try the food today.

It is located in the heart of downtown Bessemer, AL. I met my lunch buddy in the lobby, which is adorned with all of the awards they have received through the years. The host took us to our seat and we began to read the menu. It took me a minute to focus on the menu because I was trying to catch up with my friend. Anyway, the waitress brought our drinks and some bread as we continued to talk. The bread consisted of two rolls and two mini cornbread muffins; each of them were really good! I couldn’t decide whether to order the Greek Chicken or Fried Pork Chops with gravy, they both sounded good. However, I was not pleased with the variety of side items because many of them were starches. When it was time to order, the waitress convinced me to get the Pork Chops and my side items were creamed corn, squash, and Greek potatoes. My friend ordered the Flounder Almondine with turnip greens, broccoli & cheese, and Greek potatoes. And we both split the Fried Crab Claws, for an appetizer.

So here is the verdict: My food was ok. The Fried Pork Chop with gravy had too much fat on it, and I couldn’t see the fat because it was so much breading on it. The corn and squash were really good, I would definitely order those items again. My Greek potatoes were warm in some spots and cold in other spots. My friend says that her food was ok, as well. The Flounder Almondine was not anything special, she says that “If you like flounder you would like the dish”. Her side items were ok; the turnip greens were over cooked. However, we both agree that the Fried Crab Claws tasted excellent, despite the appearance of the batter in which they were prepared in. And the cocktail sauce that we dipped them in was very good.

Our waitress, BJ, was very nice and exemplified true customer service; she even shook our hands once she gave us the bill. I liked that a lot! Now I’m going to be honest, the restaurant did not meet my expectations with the food. But if I want excellent customer service I will just go there for drinks and possibly dessert. And if I ever go back here, I will definitely order something different.

To end our afternoon, my friend and I went to “Dreamcakes” in Homewood and had a variety of cupcakes. I had the “Chocolate Peanut Butter” cupcake and a “Oatmeal Creme Filled” cookie sandwich. She had the “Over the Moon” cupcake and a “Strawberry” cupcake. We decided to eat at the bakery, so we split our cupcakes with each other and had good convo. Wow, this afternoon was fun and pretty laid back!

http://www.thebrightstar.com/

http://www.dreamcakes-bakery.com/home.html

4 Responses to “My visit to a world-renowned restaurant”

  1. Stacia said

    Ok so now my mouth is watering. dreamcakes looks delicious and I am so going to have to try it out. Thanks for the link 🙂

  2. Susan Courington said

    Their snapper throats are outstanding!

Leave a Reply

 
