Food Scoop "Birmingham"

Food and Travel

J. Alexander’s

Posted by bhamfoodscoop on May 6, 2010

J. Alexander’s, outside of the Galleria Mall in Hoover, is a casual elegant restaurant. Every time that I go there it makes me feel like I’m at a ski lodge in Colorado because of the interior decor. The atmosphere is chic and the prices are very reasonable. I like the open kitchen concept because it allows you to see the chefs prepare your food.

Mom and I went here last night since it’s her favorite restaurant. I always order something different whenever I go, but recently I’ve been stuck on the “Mr. Jack’s Chicken Finger Platter” and the Caesar Salad, which is the best in Birmingham. However, last night I wanted something different and exotic. So I decided to get the “Thai Kai Salad” which is basically an Asian salad with crisp wontons, chopped peanuts, grilled chicken, a unique blend of lettuce, and a cilantro vinaigrette. Wow, this really did it for me, it was so good! It almost rivaled the “Luau Salad” that I get from the Cheesecake Factory. My mom got her favorite dish, the “Hyde Park” chicken sandwich and a baked potato. The sandwich consists of a specially seasoned piece of  grilled chicken on a grilled sourdough bun, lettuce, tomatoes, pickles, ketchup, and mustard. She loves this!

After, this big meal the waitress tried to get us to have desert but we were just too full, as always. However, I’ve had the J. Alexander’s chocolate cake with a scoop of Haagen Dazs vanilla ice cream; wow it is a knock out! And recently people have been telling me that I should try the carrot cake from here, so that means next time I will only be coming here for desert so that I can enjoy every bite and not feel stuffed!

Now I’m off to Destin, Florida to enjoy a beach-side wedding, shopping,and good food. So be on the lookout for entries about my Destin culinary adventures!

http://www.jalexanders.com/index.htm

Leave a Reply

 
