Food Scoop "Birmingham"

Food and Travel

Momma G’s

Posted by bhamfoodscoop on April 16, 2010

Today for lunch I had Momma Goldberg’s, one of my favorite places in Auburn. This restaurant originated in Auburn and just began to franchise, so now Birmingham has several. Whenever I want a taste of Auburn I go here! Today I met a friend, from my Auburn college days, at the one on 280.

When we got in line to order, it was like a free for all, there was no structure in who was going to take our order. So after a lull of about 4 minutes of us thinking someone was gonna take our order, I asked if we were going to get served. They apologized, but I think that issue needed to be addressed, so I made it known in a nice professional manner. Anyway, I ordered the “Momma’s Love Salad”, which is amazing. I always order it with Iceburg Lettuce and Romaine Lettuce and my toppings include, raisins, carrots, feta cheese, turkey, roast beef, banana peppers, bell peppers, cucumbers, croutons, and two salad dressings; Thousand Island and Italian dressings. I’m telling you this combination is out of this world amazing! My friend had the “Camel Rider” which is made with pita bread, ham, turkey, roast beef, lettuce, mustard, cheese, mayonnaise, and the sandwich is steamed the Momma G’s way.  He also ordered the Momma’s Nacho’s which are nacho cheese flavored Doritos with slices of melted pepper jack cheese on top; a Momma G’s classic!

The food was very good and I’m excited that we had the opportunity to catch up because we haven’t seen each other in a while. Wow, I am excited to have relived an Auburn Experience today!

http://www.mommagoldbergsdeli.com/

One Response to “Momma G’s”

  1. Crystal said

    I love Momma G’s and now that we’re back in B’ham that’s also my go-to place for an AU experience.
    Me, you, and Adam should get together for lunch one weekend and go there.

Leave a Reply

 
