Food Scoop "Birmingham"

Food and Travel

Lebanese Food Festival

Posted by bhamfoodscoop on April 9, 2010

After all of my meetings today, I met a friend for lunch at the 12th Annual Lebanese Food and Cultural Festival at St. Elias Maronite Catholic Church. This is a great cultural experience that occurs once a year, and I try to attend every year. The food and festivities all represent the Lebanese culture. It is free to attend, you just pay for the food; they only accept cash.

When you walk into the church gymnasium there are a variety of tables set up with different foods, such as deserts, drinks, breads, and the main food. The main food consists of kibbi, chicken and a few other exotic items. I ordered the greek chicken and my friend ordered the kibbi. Both plates came with rice, greek green beans, greek salad and pita bread. The average price is $13.00 for a plate, not bad for what all you get! We also bought some Lebanese pastries. My all time favorite is the “wedding cookie” covered in powdered sugar.

You must attend this event with an open mind because there is no American food, and that’s one of the reasons why I like it. I enjoyed all of my food and my friend enjoyed hers although she wasn’t a fan of the kibbe, but at least she had an open mind to try it. If you attend the festival later in the day, you will be treated to a live band playing Lebanese music, people performing the native dances of Lebanon, church tours, and many other exciting things.

If I had to rate this festival, I would give it a 9.5 because the people are friendly, it promotes culture, and they spend a lot of time preparing for it. I recommend that you all go and experience this exotic and ethnic side of Birmingham!

4 Responses to “Lebanese Food Festival”

  1. Blkgrl said

    Oh, I absolutely love cultural festivals. Several happen during the spring in my neck of the woods and I try to catch as many as I can. The Lebanese festival sounds simply grand.

  2. My nephew, Norman Bolus, is the co-director of the festival and has been since it started. He works himself to death during this time of the year…and he is also finishing up his doctorate this spring, so he has been very busy. We have Lebanese pastries for Thanksgiving and Christmas every year!

  3. Bettina said

    Did you dance?

  4. Jac said

    I really wish I had remembered this!

    I love it every year but I was so busy with the wedding and everything yesterday… Today all I did was rest and talk.

Leave a Reply

 
