Food Scoop "Birmingham"

Food and Travel

Jackson’s and Gabriella’s

Posted by bhamfoodscoop on March 7, 2010

WOW, the time has flown! Just getting in from church and preparing to go to the Cheesecake Factory, to celebrate my grandmother’s birthday. I’m trying to figure out what I will order; I want to try something new and different. Anyway, I have been busy these past few days but I gotta tell you about two restaurants that I visited.

On Thursday night, I met a new friend at Jackson’s Bar and Bistro in SoHo. We sat and talked for at least 3 hours, of course it had to be good conversation! I wasn’t too hungry so I had the Sesame Barbeque Feathers, which was unique because the chicken was grilled and pulled into pieces and then flash fried; it was really good. Finally, we split fried twinkies for desert; yeah I said “fried twinkies”! They were served with soft serve vanilla ice cream and I could’ve passed out on the floor because they were so good. I could only eat half of one. Here they are below:

Friday afternoon I met more friends at Gabriella’s, a new soul food restaurant in downtown Birmingham. It is white table cloth and the food is served buffet style. It’s not a huge buffet but just the right stuff, and I’m sure the menu changes daily. I sampled everything from the shrimp alfredo to the fried chicken; and you better bet I had my green vegetables. They were green beans and turnip greens. My meal reached its apex while I was having desert (peach cobbler) and one of the patrons started playing Stevie Wonder songs on the piano, wow, words can’t explain! This is the kind of meal that requires you to take a nap afterwards, but I had other things to do, so I couldn’t lol!

Both of these restaurants are unique and good; I will definitely be going back. Ok, ya’ll have a wonderful day and get out there and enjoy this wonderful weather we are having!

http://www.facebook.com/JacksonsBirmingham?ref=ts#!/JacksonsBirmingham?v=info

Leave a Reply

 
