Food Scoop "Birmingham"

Food and Travel

Makarios in Five Points South

Posted by bhamfoodscoop on September 29, 2012

On a warm autumn night I was sitting on the patio of Makarios Kabob & Grill enjoying the company of friends and trying to enjoy the exotic flavors of Middle Eastern cuisine. There were a diverse array of customers, many whom were of Middle Eastern descent, so that led me to think that this place must have authentic Middle Eastern food.

Since the waitress said they are known for their smoothies, I decided to order the strawberry banana flavor. It was very good after I added a small packet of sugar; next time I’ll just tell them to make it extra sweet. After pondering over the menu and asking the waitress for English translations, we were ready to order. I had the Chicken Shawarma which was charbroiled marinated chicken wrapped in pita bread with garlic sauce & pickles. I only took two bites of this and didn’t like it because the flavor of the garlic sauce overpowered the flavors of everything else. I also ordered a side of grilled vegetables which were very tasty. FYI: Someone else ordered the Chicken Shawarma and they enjoyed it because they asked for the garlic sauce on the side.

The only big hit, in my opinion, was the Makarios Salad; lettuce, olives, beets, feta cheese, onions, tomatoes, cucumbers, & fresh dill mixed with homemade dressing. It looked like coleslaw but tasted nothing like it. If I go back, this is what I will order.

One of my other friends got the Fried Kibba, fried lamb, and she seemed to enjoy it.

And another friend got the Shawarma Plate; marinated chicken, lamb kabob, and rice. She also didn’t have any complaints.

Makarios has a unique festive atmosphere, reasonable prices, and good customer service, but this is no place that I must flock back to soon! Try it out and let me know what you think.

Makarios Kabobs & Grill on Urbanspoon

2 Responses to “Makarios in Five Points South”

  1. Joy said

    My sister and I are very interested in opening a new restaurant, in the Birmingham area. We specialize in soul food.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,013 other followers

