Food Scoop "Birmingham"

Food and Travel

Can you say “Pinches Tacos”!

Posted by bhamfoodscoop on June 17, 2011

Ok so I’m just getting in from Pinches Tacos and I couldn’t wait to write this review. Pinches has an authentic name and definitely an authentic vibe, with food that is “muy delicioso”! It is located in Homewood, AL in the Hallman Hill Condo Complex (Downtown Homewood). So if you want authentic/tasty quick Mexican cuisine, this is your place.

The reason I know that this place is authentic is because I lived and traveled throughout Mexico and the food at Pinches Tacos reminds me of the food I ate in Mexico. This is some of the real stuff ya’ll!

A friend and I visited Pinches for the first time on Tuesday of this week; I was so impressed with the quality and taste of the food that I had to go back (tonight) and bring two other friends with me so they could try it. I must admit that this experience was even better than the first because I got to meet the owner (Ty Taylor), the Executive Chef (Manuel Anaya), and add the tasty cuisine and good company, what more can I ask for!

“Our mission is simple, to provide you the best taco experience by using high quality meats and seafood, fresh garden vegetables, hand made tortillas and high quality artisan breads.”  Furthermore, I feel that the staff lives up to every aspect of this mission statement!

Thanks to Ty Taylor, we are fortunate, in Birmingham, to have this new eclectic Mexican eatery. The Anaya family started Pinches Tacos in Los Angeles, California by sharing their family recipes with the public. For your information, this is the only Pinches Tacos location outside of Los Angeles, thanks again Ty! The menu is fairly basic, it consists of tacos, burritos, enchiladas, sopes, tortas, flautas, quesadilla, and a few other food items. You can order each of these with your choice of meat, seafood, or a vegetarian option. Pinches has a Happy Hour on Monday-Friday (3pm-7pm) with a variety of Mexican & American sodas, margaritas, beer, and wine. On Saturdays and Sundays they serve “desayuno” (brunch) with various Mexican dishes, and on Friday nights they have live music.

Now more details about the food; tonight I ordered the Asada Taco (grilled angus beef taco with salsa verde) and the Guacamole/Chips/Salsa. All of this was simply “delicioso” because I could tell that it was served fresh and made from the heart. The soft shell taco was authentic because the tortilla was made from corn and not from flour; I prefer the corn tortilla.  The tacos are fairly small, so if you’re hungry you might want to order more than one.  I could tell that the salsa is made from fresh tomatoes, it was kind of watery but still good. The guacamole seemed like it was made while we waited; it had a good consistency and was also fresh. Also I kept asking for the salsa verde like it was going out of season. I poured it on my taco and I dipped my chips in it as well.

To drink, all of us ordered  the Blood Orange Margarita, and can I just say “dulce y fuerte” (sweet & strong). I really enjoyed it and would have gotten another if I wasn’t driving.

Jay ordered a variety of tacos that consisted of the Pollo Mole (chicken & mole), Asada (grilled angus beef), AlPastor (slow broiled marinated pork). With this he got rice, beans, and chips. He had no complaints and was just left wondering why I just told him about this restaurant lol!

Marcus had the Pollo Enchilada (chicken) and it comes with 3 per order, along with salsa roja, beans, & rice (he got a double order of rice). He said this food was so good that he will drive back from Tuscaloosa, just to have it again.

Lastly, the prices are so reasonable especially for the high-quality of food that you receive. I really enjoyed Pinches Tacos and I’m going back probably this weekend lol!

http://pinchestacos.com/

Pinches Tacos on Urbanspoon

LocalEats featured blog

Leave a comment