Food Scoop "Birmingham"

Food and Travel

Archive for April 29th, 2010

Dale’s Southern Grill

Posted by bhamfoodscoop on April 29, 2010

Dale’s is a restaurant that serves southern comfort food in a contemporary atmosphere. There are numerous locations around Birmingham, but my visit was to the Greystone location, across from Publix.

I met a friend there and we didn’t even have to wait for a table; this was at lunch time. The menu is huge and changes daily, but most of the time you can get something any day, if it is on the menu. This was my friend’s first time visit to Dale’s so he wasn’t sure what to expect.  Therefore, I always give my personal recommendations on the menu, and it’s always up to you whether you want to order it or not; so that’s the same thing I did to him. However, he chose to get something different, which was the baked grouper, macaroni & cheese, and grilled vegetables. He said that everything was good, but he also liked what I had, lol! I got the pecan crusted chicken with grilled vegetables, fried okra, and the carrot souffle.  The chicken and the souffle are my favorites because they are unique to this restaurant.

I always have a great time at Dale’s because there has never been a time where they have fallen short of quality and taste! I definitely recommend this place if you want southern cooking, but don’t feel like cooking it yourself.

http://www.dalessoutherngrills.com/

Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments »

Oak Hill Bar & Grill

Posted by bhamfoodscoop on April 29, 2010

So today for lunch I went to Oak Hill Bar & Grill in Downtown Homewood. It is a small restaurant with a french flair. It looks like something that would be in the French Quarter in New Orleans.

They have different specialties each day, and today they had fried chicken. The menu offers a variety of items but I decided to get the fried chicken with green beans, black-eyed peas, and fried green tomatoes. My friend got the shrimp poboy with fried green tomatoes and macaroni & cheese. This was her first time having a poboy and she really enjoyed it. I like to savor my food every time I eat, so that means that I eat kind of slow. However,  today is the day that I think I ate the slowest because the food was full of spices and it was just simply awesome!

Also, the waitress was really cool, maybe that’s because she’s an Auburn grad, lol! I forgot to mention that the tea was very good. Normally I have to add sugar and lemon to the tea at other restaurants, but today everything was perfect. I really enjoyed my experience here, and it’s certain that I will go there again!

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a Comment »