Food Scoop "Birmingham"

Food and Travel

Cupcake Heaven in Birmingham

Posted by bhamfoodscoop on April 2, 2010

Yay, the cupcake craze has come to Birmingham! The other day I went to “Dreamcakes” in the heart of  Edgewood, near “New York Pizza”; this place is cupcake heaven! It is a charming and quaint venue where the delicious smell, of cakes baking in the oven, overcomes you upon walking in the front door. “Dreamcakes” offers out of the box flavors that many local bakeries don’t have. Once I walked into the store and saw the cases filled with such a variety of stunning cupcake flavors, I didn’t know what to do, I just got excited!

Each flavor has a unique name, so I decided to get the “Curious George”, the “Over the Moon”, and the “Caramel Sea Salt Mocha”. The “Curious George” is a banana cake with peanut butter frosting, topped with candy bananas. I love anything with a banana flavor and the peanut butter compliments it very well.

The “Over the Moon” is a white velvet cake, buttercream filling, vanilla bean frosting and white chocolate curls. You can’t go wrong with this choice, all I can say is excellent!

Lastly, the “Caramel Sea Salt Mocha” is chocolate cake with a mocha frosting, topped with a caramel drizzle, a coffee candy & a sprinkle of sea salt. This cupcake wasn’t my favorite because I’m not a big coffee fan, and it had a strong mocha flavor.

Furthermore, the cupcakes are a nice size and it was impossible for me to eat all three, in one day. The first cupcake that I ate, was the “Curious George”. I’m glad to say that the two remaining cupcakes, that I didn’t eat, remained fresh for another two days after I bought them. Each cupcake had its own taste and I don’t regret getting any of the flavors that I mentioned.

The customer service is exceptional, the prices are cheap, and the cupcakes are amazing, so I will definitely be going back very soon!

FYI: The cupcake flavors alternate each day so check out the menu before you go. I don’t want you to get a taste for a flavor they don’t have that day. Also they sell more than just cupcakes, so go check out “Dreamcakes” you won’t regret it!

http://www.dreamcakes-bakery.com/home.html

Dreamcakes Bakery on Urbanspoon

2 Responses to “Cupcake Heaven in Birmingham”

  1. Tried dreamcakes today and wasn’t impressed. I prefer Olexa’s and Edgar’s.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,013 other followers

